|Furnished in the style of a 19th century Finnish
farmhouse, this unique exhibition provides a fascinating glimpse
into Finland's tradition and culture and reminds visitors that
the Fenyes Mansion once served as the Finnish Consulate.
History of the Structure
In 1949, Consul Paloheimo noticed a redwood structure on Orange
Grove Avenue cut in two and offered for sale. He purchased
half of what had originally been a Swiss-chalet style garage,
designed in 1910 by Frederick Roehrig for the Wigmore Estate.
After moving it to the Fenyes
property, Paloheimo set about turning it into a sauna and
guesthouse. The Consul did much of the stonework and gardening
around the sauna himself.
Today authentic Finnish artifacts representative of a "tupa,"
or farmhouse, are on display. Presented in partnership with
the Finlandia Foundation, the Finnish Folk Art Museum is the
only one of its kind in the United States.
More information about the Finlandia Foundation is available